Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube

Introducing your Elected Officers 2021/22

Wednesday 24-03-2021 - 17:31


Beds SU Student Elections are over for another year.  It has been an elections like no other with your candidates having to rely on social media and word of mouth vs. face-to-face time with you all, to share their ambitions for what they would do if elected.

But these unprecidented times didn't deter your candidates or you as voters and we are delighted to share we had a RECORD turn out of 2,647 voters, which represents 16% of the student body here at the University, up 4% on last year! Under our new voting system, similar to the American 'electorial college', candidates needed to gain votes from more than one campus based on a points system in order to win, and it was really encouraging to see support across all campuses.

The Results
Your voices were heard loud and clear and out of the 33 candidates running the following individuals have been elected by you, their peers to support, listen and lead the student voice for ALL, here at the University of Bedfordshire:

Quadri Yusuf - Co-President (Self identifying Male/Non-binary)
Laura Tamara - Co-President (Self identifying Woman)
Dylan Cox - Co-Vice President, Campus Engagement & Equality (Self identifying Male/Non-binary)
Catalina Nita - Co-Vice President, Campus Engagement & Equality (Self identifying Woman)

We will be sharing more from your new Executive Team in the coming weeks ahead of them taking up their positions in June. If you are interested in reading more on their initial plans you can do so by clicking on each of their names to read their manifestos.

If you were unable to join us live for the results please click/tap here to watch or for more information on the Elections voting process this year please click here. 

NUS Candidates: 
In addition to your newly elected Executive Officers you chose three students to join current Beds SU President Michael Alawaye, to represent the student voice here at the University of Bedfordshire at next month's NUS conference. 

The students you chose are as follows:

Marlena Cocu - (Self identifying Woman)
Caroline "Carole" Chimombe - (Self identifying Woman)
Md Suyebur Rahman -  (Self identifying Male/Non-binary)

The conference will take place virtually between the 7-8 April and students from across the UK will discuss key issues currently impacting students across the country.  We will update on the outcomes of the conference in the coming weeks.

The counting process for the NUS positions is different to that of the Exec Officers process.  If you would like more information with regards to the NUS vote please contact the elections team.


Related Tags :

More Beds SU Articles

More Articles...