Facebook Twitter Instagram Youtube

Elections 2020/21

Beds Student Union (SU) is proud to have such a strong student community. The dedication of our student leaders is what makes the SU so strong. Our student leaders play a key part in creating an inclusive community, whilst gaining key skills and personal development opportunities that look great on their CV.

Our next set of elections for the positions below start soon all the available positions can be found here

Nominations are open from 4th November at 9AM to the 11th November at 4PM

Nominate yourself at www.bedssu.co.uk/nominate  

Voting is open from 12th November at 9AM to the 19th November at 4PM

Vote at www.bedssu.co.uk/vote 

Society Committee Members

Our societies play a big part in bringing students together and creating a sense of community and all our societies are run by students - Society Committee Members. Our Society Committee Members are there to plan events and activities for their members, giving them the opportunity to learn key transferable skills. All societies must have a Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson however, some societies may have specialist roles suited to their society needs, these can be found in the society constitution on the individual society web page. Society Committee positions are open to all members of the society.

View the full role descriptions (PDF)

Sports Team Presidents 

Although the SU doesn’t run competitive sport anymore we still represent sports teams and their members. Our Sports Team Presidents act as a representative of their teams by bringing feedback and ideas to harvest the vital link between students, the SU and the University. Being President isn’t about sporting prowess but rather the ability to represent the voice of their team members, so it doesn’t necessarily have to be your club captain. Each sports team will have a President and the role is open to any paid member of the individual team.

Role Description: The Team President will be the principal officer and spokesperson for the club and the chairperson of club meetings. The Team President will attend the SU’s democratic meetings as a representative of the team. They will also be the main liaison between club teams, the University’s Sports Department and the SU.

Course Reps 

As a Course Rep, you are the first line of communication between students, the University, and the SU when it comes to collecting academic feedback. Course Rep elections should take place in class and be organised by your Course Leader, we recommend getting in contact with your course leader if you haven't heard about this opportunity yet. 

If you are willing and have the time you may want to take on further responsibility and become a Senior Course Rep or School Rep: 

Senior Course Reps 

Being a Senior Course Rep is a step up from being a Course Representative: you will volunteer your time to enhance the communication between students with a portfolio (a group of related courses) and the University staff who organise and manage those courses, passing on feedback and relaying responses. A key part of your role is attending Portfolio Executive Committees (PECs) where you act as co-producers of the teaching and learning environment and assist in providing student views during the strategic planning of courses. There are two positions per year for each portfolio, including one reserved Black, Asian, and Minority Ethnic (BAME) position. You have to be an elected Course Representative in order to hold this role. If you believe that you are a Course Representative but have not been contacted by Beds SU, you can register yourself online using this form.

View the full role descriptions (PDF)

School Reps

As a School Rep, you will volunteer your time to champion the student educational experience in your School/Department, acting as the communication channel between the students, the Students’ Union and University of Bedfordshire staff. You will support and promote School-specific Student Voice Forums and other initiatives, advocating escalated student views (those that could not be resolved elsewhere) at meetings. You will have a strong and informed voice at Faculty Academic Board meetings - where Faculty-wide matters related to teaching and learning are discussed - working as partners with academic staff to enhance the whole educational experience. Any student can nominate themself for this role.

View the full role descriptions (PDF)

Campus Liasion Officers

Working on a part-time voluntary basis, the Campus Liaison Officer's key focus is to ensure that the student experience across all our campus is represented. Each University approved Campus will have Campus Liaison Officers, and these positions are open to all current University of Bedfordshire students at that campus. 

View the full role description (PDF)

See our current Campus Liasion Officers

Liberation Network Chairs & Vice-Chairs

The purpose of Liberation Networks is to represent the diverse characteristics of the Membership and exist to advance the representation of student communities that are widely acknowledged to experience or have experienced oppression, exclusion, or disadvantage. They will lead and seek change within the University, the Union, and the wider student experience for those that they represent. As the Chair or Vice-Chair of the network, you will lead the network and represent their views to the Union and University. You must be a member of the individual network to nominate yourself for the role. 

Full role description- coming soon